Wednesday, July 01, 2009

Library Renovation Announcement

The Helen Miller Bailey Library building will be vacated on July 20, 2009. The library will be housed temporarily in the new Fitness Center in the Men’s Gym (Bldg. C 1) for about two years until the library building renovation is completed. The library will begin operating at the temporary location on August 31, 2009.

Since there is much less space in the temporary facility, half of the print book collection will not be available and the print periodicals and newspapers will be limited to issues dating back no more than three months. If you need to use print collections that are not available at ELAC, check to see if another Los Angeles Community College Library has what you need. You may request an intra-library loan at ELAC’s reference desk or you may visit the library itself. To see a map with locations of the Los Angeles Community College Libraries, click this link:

While the library is operating in the Fitness Center, we strongly suggest that you use our extensive collection of e-books and databases which are accessible both on- and off-campus. You access these electronic resources with your ACE account. To find out about the ACE account, click this link:

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Helen Miller Bailey Library Extended Hours for Finals for Spring 2009

Sunday, May 24: 10 am – 5 pm
Wednesday, May 27: 8 am – 11 pm
Thursday, May 28: 8 am – 11 pm
Sunday, May 31: 10 am – 5 pm
Monday, June 1: 8 am – 11 pm
Tuesday, June 2: 8 am – 11 pm
Wednesday, June 3: 8 am – 11 pm
Thursday, June 4: 8 am – 11 pm